Eating My Words

For much of the last decade I’ve had reading parties as a way of beta testing my screenplays and plays. This gives me a chance to hear how the words actually sound and gives me the benefit of the experience of the readers. I get their opinions and avoid foolish mistakes. Thanks to my reading group, I now know that depressed witches do not wear red satin pajamas.

This process, of course, means multiple copies of the same manuscript when all is read and done. The parties usually end on the back patio around the fire pit. Scripts without useful notations are cast into the flames. The next day, the ashes go into the compost pile to eventually fertilize the tomatoes.

The comedy gives the veggies a hint of sweetness. The sex scenes add a touch of savory. Graphic violence and gore taste sharp and hot like ghost peppers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer stuff

Leave a Reply

