#astoryaweek

First, I would like to state for the record that I have not written fifty-two stories IN MY LIFE.  In spite of that, I succumbed to peer pressure from Jessica McHugh and the other authors in the Post Mortem Press cadre and committed to the #astoryaweek challenge.  It may seem a bit daunting, but I am allowed to include Flash Fiction for my quota.  I just finished a 360 word Flash story called “Tunnel Vision”.  I expect to be able to come up with twice that by the end of next week.

Like many other high performances challenges like the 48 Hour Film Festival or Three Days of Terror, it is what I call a “Dancing Bear” performance: it doesn’t matter how well the bear dances, but that it dances at all.  I am not making any promises of quality.  I will use this, though, as an excuse to finish all the little pieces I have had buzzing around in my head.  It’s not cheating to finish a two-year-old story fragment for one week’s output.  Many hooks for bigger projects can be committed to paper and then stuffed into my special binder labeled “Start Here Stupid” when I’m ready for my next novel.  It’ll be easy in the copious free time I have at my disposal.

Week 1: “Tunnel Vision”  360 words

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer stuff

Leave a Reply

